Les aveugles…

October 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

“I met people who were born blind. Who had never seen. I asked them what their image of beauty was.”

“Green is beautiful. Because every time I like something, I’m told it’s green. Grass is green, trees, leaves, nature too… I like to dress in green.”

“The man I live with is the most beautiful thing I know. Even though he can be a few inches taller, I never came across absolute perfection. I prefer well built men. It’s a question of size and shape. Facial features don’t mean much to me. What pleases me aesthetically is a man’s body, slim and muscular.”

“Hair is magnificent. Especially African hair. I curl up in women’s long hair. I pretend I’m a cat and meow. My room is oblong. There’s nothing in it, it’s clean. Just a fridge, and grass outside the window. It’s beautiful, as least I think so and I believe what I want to believe.”

“In the Rodin Museum, there is a naked woman with very erotic breasts and a terrific ass. She is sweet, she is beautiful.”

“Sheep, that’s what’s beautiful. Because they don’t move and they have wool. My mother is beautiful too, because she’s tall and has hair down to her bottom. Alain Delon.”

“The most beautiful thing I ever saw is the sea, the sea going out so far you lose sight of it.”

“I met people who were born blind. Who had never seen. I asked them what their image of beauty was. That was the first answer: a blind man telling me about the sea.”

I came across Sophie Calle’s The Blind series and I liked it so much. When I was young, I used to ask myself, “If you really had to choose -technology aside- would you rather lose your sense of sight or hearing?” and I always thought “hearing… I don’t think I could handle well not hearing things ever again…”

The responses of all the people are so simple and uninhibited but also very imaginative/out of this world.  So… I think these mini testimonials affirm my answer…

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Les aveugles… at smallcastle.

meta